SUND researchers and student awarded at AAU's Annual Celebration 2016

HST PhD student wins the Roblon prize 2016

Peter Lyngø Sørensen, a Biomedical Engineering and Informatics graduate from School of Medicine and Health, won this year's Roblon prize for most innovative Master’s thesis and was awarded DKK 100,000.00.

In his Master’s thesis "Vectorcardiographic Quantification of Myocardial Infarction", Peter demonstrated that it is possible to use a vectorcardiographic 3D representation of the ECG in patients with acute myocardial infarction to locate and assess the severity of the ischemic area of the heart.

The project was supervised by associate professor Claus Graff and assistant professor Jacob Melgaard, Medical Informatics Group, Department of Health Science and Technology.

"Peter Lyngø Sørensen's thesis is one of the most innovative student projects we have supervised in our research group at Laboratory for Cardiotechnology. Peter is a very promising young research talent and he truly deserves the Roblon prize", Claus Graff states.

Peter Lyngø Sørensen is pleased to receive the 2016 Roblon prize and expressed his gratitude: "It’s a great recognition of my work. I would like to thank my two supervisors Jacob Melgaard and Claus Graff for their valuable support throughout the project”.

Peter will continue his research as a PhD student at the Department of Health Science and Technology.

Click here to read the full article (in Danish)

Contact details:

Peter Lyngø Sørensen, 2868 7555,

Claus Graff,  6133 3369,


SMI collaborator receives "Spar Nord Fondens Forskningspris 2016"

Søren Thorgaard Skou, Aalborg University Hospital and University of Southern Denmark, received SparNord Fondens Forskningspris 2016 at AAU’s annual celebration for his excellent research within osteoarthritis.

Søren Thorgaard Skou made his PhD thesis with Professor Lars Arendt-Nielsen as one of the co-supervisors.

Read more about Søren Thorgaard Skou’s research (in Danish).


Dr. Peter Agre received an honorary doctoral degree from SUND

Dr. Peter Agre, Johns Hopkins University received an honorary doctoral degree in biomedical engineering and science from the Department of Health Science and Technology, Faculty of Medicine. The degree was presented by Per Michael Johansen, Rector of Aalborg University at the university's annual celebration. Dr. Agre is affiliated with Biomedicine Group at Department of Health Science and Technology.

Dr. Agre is a professor of biological chemistry at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He also holds an appointment in the department of molecular biology and immunology at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. 

Dr. Agre’s research has focused on the molecular aspects of human diseases, including hemolytic anemias, blood group antigens and malaria. He received the 2003 Nobel Prize in Chemistry with Roderick MacKinnon of Rockefeller University for the discovery of aquaporins, water channels that facilitate the movement of water across cell membranes. 

Dr. Agre is a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor and director of the Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute. (source:


Ernst Albin Hansen honored

Associate professor Ernst Albin Hansen, SMI, was honored for his research and for obtaining his doctoral degree in natural science (dr.scient.) on 24 June 2015. You can download the thesis: "On voluntary rhythmic leg movement behaviour and control during pedalling" here.


Read more about the AAU Annual Celebration 2016 (in Danish).