Lars Arendt-Nielsen hands over the IASP Presidency

Lars Arendt-Nielsen hands over the IASP Presidency

Last modified: 25.09.2020

In September 2018, Prof. Lars Arendt-Nielsen took over the Presidency for the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) with an ambitious plan to increase global awareness on (chronic) pain, improve education of pain, and stabilize the economy of the association, which goals and many more were all accomplished when he successfully finished his presidency earlier this week.

IASP has more than 6,000 members from more than 100 countries and is the world-leading association for clinicians, researchers, healthcare provides, and policymakers working with pain and improving pain relief worldwide.

Some of the landmarks, for which Prof. Lars Arendt-Nielsen will be remembered and recognized during the short two-year term as President are:

  • Opening of two new pain schools in Europe and Australia
  • Enrolled one new IASP chapter and two new IASP societies
  • Formed the Association of South-East Asian Pain Societies
  • Appointed more than 200 volunteers on committee, working groups, and task forces
  • Raises extensive funding for pain education programs and established the Professional Educational Resource Center (PERC) with on-demand education material for pain professionals.
  • Generated a surplus of the IASP budget for the first time in a non-congress year

Traditionally, the President would be honored during the IASP General Assembly at the World Congress of Pain. This year, the General Assembly took place online due to the SARS-CoV-2, and on 21st September 2020, Prof. Lars Arendt-Nielsen handed over the IASP Presidency to Prof. Claudia Sommer, Germany, during an online transmission from Aalborg University. Prof. Lars Arendt-Nielsen will continue to serve IASP as the Immediate Past-President until 2022.   

Text and photos: Kristian Kjær Petersen, Associate Professor.